Spotlight on a Local Gallery

Much needs to be said about my favorite gallery in town, the KwaZulu Natal Society of Arts (KZNSA).  In the two times that I have been here, I have seen a number of excellent pieces created by talented local artists.  Below are a few of my favorite works from the latest exhibit.

In addition to the impressive gallery, the KZNSA offers a host of exquisite paintings, crafts, and jewelry for sale at their gift shop.  Each gift that a customer purchases comes with a short bio or article about the artist.  Many of the featured artists began doing freelance work from a young age.  A few of them unfortunately died young, but the gallery cherishes their legacy and the artwork they left behind.  I am already so impressed by all of the artistic talents I have become acquainted with in South Africa thus far, and I can’t wait to see more great artwork soon!

This entry was posted in Art, Durban. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment